The Independent School Standards

All independent schools in England must adhere to the Independent School Standards.

These standards are set by the Department for Education.

The standards are split into eight main parts and cover all aspects of school life:

Part 1: Quality of Education
Part 2: Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural development of pupils (SMSC)
Part 3: Welfare, health and safety of pupils
Part 4: Suitability of staff, supply staff and proprietors
Part 5: Premises of and accommodation at schools
Part 6: Provision of Information
Part 7: Manner in which complaints are handled
Part 8: Quality of leadership in and management of schools